Barbaresco PDO

Production Area

Share On


The Barbaresco PDO is reserved exclusively for Red wine.

Production Area

The production area of Barbaresco PDO is within the territory of the municipalities of Barbaresco, Neive, Treiso and the fraction of San Rocco Senodelvio in the municipality of Alba in the Province of Cuneo, in the Piedmont region.


Red (incl. Riserva): exclusively Nebbiolo.

Description of product typologies

Barbaresco PDO has an intense and vivid colour, with hues ranging from ruby-red to garnet; it displays a bouquet of fruity fragrances on the nose, reminescent of raspberry and red fruit jam, wild strawberry, geranium and violet, as well as green pepper, cinnamon, nutmeg, hay, roasted hazelnuts, vanilla and even aniseed; the palate reveals an elegant and subtle tannin, and it is full-bodied and intense with long persistence. Riserva can be displayed on the label.The mandatory period of aging, commencing November 1st of the harvest year, is 26 months (9 months in wood) for Barbaresco PDO and 50 months (9 months in wood) for Barbaresco PDO Riserva.

Additional specifications

The Barbaresco PDO designation, with or without geographical indication can be followed by Vigna (Vineyard) with the relative toponym. Barbaresco PDO (incl. Riserva) can also be accompanied by the following sub-geographical designations: Albesani, Asili, Ausario, Balluri, Basarin, Bernadot, Bordini, Bricco di Neive, Bricco di Treiso, Bric - Micca, Ca’ Grossa, Canova, Cars, Casot, Castellizzano, Cavanna, Cole, Cottà, Currà, Faset, Fausoni, Ferrere, Gaia-Principe, Gallina, Garassino, Giacone, Giacosa, Manzola, Marcarini, Marcorino, Martinenga, Meruzzano, Montaribaldi, Montefico, Montersino, Montestefano, Muncagota, Nervo, Ovello, Pajè, Pajorè, Pora, Rabajà, Rabaja-Bas, Rio Sordo, Rivetti, Rizzi, Roccalini, Rocche Massalupo, Rombone, Roncaglie, Roncagliette, San Cristoforo, San Giuliano, San Stunet, Secondine, Serraboella, Serracapelli, Serragrilli, Starderi, Tre Stelle, Trifolera, Valeirano, Vallegrande and Vicenziana.